As we grow more familiar with gluten-free foods, it's easier to distinguish what foods are safe when dealing with a wheat allergy. Rice and some grains are gluten-free, but traditional pasta and bread are definitely not. And while it's usually pretty easy to figure out which foods are gluten-free, there are still some foods that have fallen through the crack since they don't follow the typical rules. Here are three of the most surprising foods that contain gluten.
- Soy Sauce: For those who have a gluten-free radar on, soy sauce may come as a bit of a shock. Although gluten is not typically found in liquid form other than in beer, one of the prime ingredients in soy sauce is wheat. Use instead: Bragg Liquid Aminos. Not only does it taste almost identical to soy sauce, but you can also use it in everything — stir-fry, salad, poultry, you name it!
- Couscous: Despite its grain-like appearance, this wheat-based dish is actually tied closer to the pasta category since it contains semolina. Use instead: Brown rice. This grain has a more similar texture to couscous than other grains like quinoa.
- Self-basted turkey: Although turkey is naturally gluten-free, many up for purchase around the holidays are not. Basted or self-basted turkeys have been spiced up with butter, broth, stock, flavor enhancers, or seasoning to improve on taste. Unfortunately, most of these ingredients are also filled with gluten. Use instead: Natural, organic turkey. If you are hosting a turkey dinner at your home or have the means to connect with the host, make sure you set the foundation by purchasing the right bird. Read the ingredients on the label or buy directly from a guaranteed gluten-free source like Organic Prairie. If you can't find a g-free turkey, look for other options like chicken that are usually gluten-free when bought fresh. Again, just check the labels!